Samson by Regina Spektor (cover)

Regina Spektor in concert.
Regina Spektor in concert. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Samson by Regina Spektor (cover) – (Pls. click on the link to listen on SoundCloud)

Here’s my cover of Regina Spektor’s SAMSON – one of my favorite ballads 🙂 I admire Regina for her strange imagination of characters which enable her to do great songs. Hope you’ll enjoy this one 🙂 *I downloaded the accompaniment from Youtube. It’s a raw recording of Janine Langois-Brunet, so pardon the sound of pedal and ticking of the piano keys.She played it best compared to others who uploaded their versions of minus one/instrumental*

SAMSON by Regina Spektor

You are my sweetest downfall I loved you first, I loved you first Beneath the sheets of paper lies my truth I have to go, I have to go Your hair was long when we first met

Samson went back to bed Not much hair left on his head He ate a slice of wonder bread And went right back to bed And history books forgot about us And the Bible didn’t mention us The Bible didn’t mention us Not even once

You are my sweetest downfall I loved you first, I loved you first Beneath the stars came falling on our heads But they’re just old light, they’re just old light Your hair was long when we first met

Samson came to my bed Told me that my hair was red He told me I was beautiful And came into my bed Oh, I cut his hair myself one night A pair of dull scissors and the yellow light And he told me that I’d done alright And kissed me till the morning light, the morning light And he kissed me till the morning light

Samson went back to bed Not much hair left on his head Ate a slice of wonderbread And went right back to bed Oh, we couldn’t bring the columns down Yeah, we couldn’t destroy a single one And history books forgot about us And the Bible didn’t mention us Not even once You are my sweetest downfall I loved you first

6 thoughts on “Samson by Regina Spektor (cover)

  1. great cover…you don’t need to run for…cover! 🙂 really enjoyed your voice, clear soprano.
    Sing this song until it raises you beyond the words, to the deepest sense of a most loved one, and not to someone else, but to life itself!
    Thanks for the referencing! And by the way do you like also Firewood? I just love it, myself as somehow it brings in mind the memory of the movie “The Red Violin” which I adored!

    Like

leave a thought :-)

